Boards < General < General Chat < ~I just want to thank the BeastKeeper community~

Boards

« Prev | 1 | Next »

• Sun_Showers
  • User

Posted at 2016-08-24 06:23:32 — Link

I am Sun_Showers. Female, 21. Not always of a sunny disposition, but often a calm and polite one.
I am an artist for fun. This site is the first time my work has really been in a public area for people other than friends and family to see. I have made a thread for my work here.
As much as my skins being appreciated means to me, that's not why I'm here.

I'm here to thank you.
I started playing in June.
Less than two months experience, then thrust into an event. Collect 100 randomly generated butterflies to get a strong, cool and beautiful pet. With my lack of not only experience, but also buildings and strong pets I started to get upset at my lack of progress in this event. I would frequently be defeated in explore and never know if there were any butterflies to collect there in the first place. I couldn't complete silver or gold quests because I didn't have any pets they asked for.
It had become clear I couldn't do this.
Frustrated, I made a grumpy little post complaining I didn't even have an Inn or Portal Branch, two buildings I had heard other people mention as being useful for this sort of thing. I had pretty much given up. Then something amazing happened.

People started helping me.

I was given the blueprints by one person, another gave me almost every material I needed to build those two buildings, plus pets to build them. Another gave me 5 butterflies and a unicorn to help explore.
I was shown the "Temp Trades for Quests" thread, so I could start to earn butterflies (and silver) from quests.
People lending me wonderful things and trusting me to give them back unharmed. I do give them back, of course, but the level of trust that requires...